Shanto appointed as Bangladesh’s Captain for the third ODI

Posted on Sep 25 2023 - 9:23am by cricketherald

Najmul Hossain Shanto has been appointed as the 16th ODI captain for Bangladesh by the Bangladesh Cricket Board. He will lead the team in the final match of the three-game ODI series against New Zealand, set to take place at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on September 26.

New Zealand currently has a 1-0 series lead, having secured an 86-run victory in the second ODI. The first match was called off due to rain.

It is reported that Bangladesh’s openers, Tamim Iqbal and Liton Kumar Das, will not be playing in the third ODI against New Zealand.

There have been several adjustments to the Bangladesh squad. Players like Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, and Shoriful Islam are back in action after sitting out the first two matches.

Ahead of the ICC World Cup, this will be Bangladesh’s last chance to refine their squad. After a standout performance, scoring 49 runs in the second game against New Zealand, it seems almost guaranteed that Mahmudullah will secure a spot in the 15-player World Cup team. The team management has been testing various players in his position since he took a break from ODIs after the series against England. When given the chance, Mahmudullah rose to the occasion.

Post the second game, Tamim commented on Mahmudullah’s performance, stating, “He was outstanding. Even though he had taken a break for six to seven months, he showed great intent and didn’t appear rusty. His fielding was sharp, and he gave his all every time the ball came his way. Personally, I think he did exceptionally well.”

Squad: Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Zakir Hasan, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain.